Biography

Alupa A. Clarke was born in Quebec City on April 4, 1986. As the second child of a mother from Beauport, Quebec, and a father from Vancouver, he is a quintessential Canadian.

Clarke grew up in New Brunswick before spending several years overseas. After graduating from high school, he returned to Canada. But by the age of 15, Clarke had already heard the call of public service, so he decided to devote himself to the well-being of his country and its citizens.

As a young man, Clarke completed a master’s degree in political science at Laval University, writing a thesis on constitutional theories of the judicialization of politics. At the same time, he followed the family tradition of serving in the military as part of the 6th Field Artillery Regiment, based in Lévis, Quebec. Clarke’s political involvement began in 2007, when he joined the Conservative Party of Canada.

Clarke spent eight years as an active member of the Conservative Party before being elected as a Member of Parliament. In addition to taking part in various election campaigns and numerous party events, Clarke was president of the Laval University Conservative association from 2013 to 2014 and president of the Beauport–Limoilou Conservative riding association in 2013. Finally, in 2013 he completed a prestigious internship with the issues management team in the Office of the Prime Minister Canada.

In the 2015 general election, following a long campaign during which he knocked on over 20,000 doors, Clarke was elected the MP for Beauport–Limoilou. Soon after, the Honourable Rona Ambrose named him Official Opposition critic for veterans affairs (2015–2016) and, later, Official Opposition critic for public services and procurement (2016–2017). Clarke’s parliamentary duties included sitting on the Standing Committee on Veterans Affairs (ACVA) and the Standing Committee on Government Operations and Estimates (OGGO).

In 2017, the new Conservative Leader, the Honourable Andrew Scheer, appointed Clarke Shadow Cabinet Secretary for Official Languages and La Francophonie, and since September 2018, he serves as Deputy Shadow Minister for Small Business and Export Promotion, Official Languages and la Francophonie. Clarke currently sits on the Standing Committee on Official Languages as Vice-Chair.

Clarke loves to keep in touch with his riding and makes sure to meet with his constituents on a regular basis, including by doing his trademark door-knocking.

Last but not least, Clarke is married and a father of two. He lives in Beauport with his wife, son and daughter.

Biographie

p46Monsieur Alupa A. Clarke est né à Québec le 4 avril 1986. Deuxième enfant d’une mère de Beauport et d’un père originaire de Vancouver, il était pancanadien avant la lettre.

Monsieur Clarke a d’abord grandi au Nouveau-Brunswick pour ensuite passer plusieurs années outre-mer. Après avoir complété ses études secondaires, il est rentré au Canada. Mais déjà, dès l’âge de 15 ans, Monsieur Clarke sent l’appel du service public, d’où son choix de se vouer au bien-être de son pays et de ses citoyens.

Jeune homme, Monsieur Clarke a complété une maîtrise en science politique à l’Université Laval (Théories constitutionnelles de la judiciarisation du politique). À la même époque, et poursuivant une tradition familiale, il a fait son service militaire dans les rangs du 6e Régiment d’artillerie de campagne de Lévis. Son implication politique remonte à 2007, par son adhésion au Parti conservateur du Canada.

Les huit années précédant son élection à titre de député ont été marquées par son engagement auprès du Parti conservateur du Canada. En plus de sa participation à diverses campagnes électorales et à de nombreuses activités de sa formation politique, Monsieur Clarke a occupé le poste de président de l’Association conservatrice de l’Université Laval (2013-14), de même que celui de l’Association conservatrice de la circonscription fédérale de Beauport-Limoilou (2013). Enfin, en 2013, Monsieur Clarke a complété un stage prestigieux au service de la Gestion des enjeux au Bureau du premier ministre du Canada.

Lors de l’élection générale de 2015, et à la suite d’une longue campagne marquée notamment par le fait d’avoir cogné à plus de 20 000 portes, Monsieur Clarke est élu député de la circonscription fédérale de Beauport-Limoilou. Peu après, l’Honorable Rona Ambrose le nomme Porte-parole de l’Opposition officielle en matière d’Anciens combattants (2015-2016) et, plus tard, Porte-parole de l’Opposition officielle en matière de Services publics et d’approvisionnement (2016-2017). Ses responsabilités parlementaires l’ont amené à siéger au comité permanent des Anciens combattants (ACVA), ainsi que celui des Opérations gouvernementales et des prévisions budgétaires (OGGO).

En 2017, le nouveau Chef du Parti, l’Honorable Andrew Scheer, le nomme Porte-parole de l’Opposition officielle en matière de Langues officielles et de la Francophonie, et en septembre 2018 il devient ministre adjoint du Cabinet fantôme pour les petites entreprises, la promotion des exportations, les Langues officielles et la Francophonie. Monsieur Clarke siège actuellement au comité permanent des Langues officielles à titre de vice-président.

Monsieur Clarke adore le travail de terrain et se fait un devoir quotidien d’aller à la rencontrer des citoyens, notamment par l’entremise de son fameux porte à porte.

Finalement, et non le moindre, Monsieur Clarke est marié et père de famille. Il habite Beauport avec sa fille, son fils et sa femme.

MPAlupaA.ClarkeDéputé