Conservative Party Leader, Mr. Andrew Scheer names Alupa Clarke Shadow Minister for Official Languages and La Francophonie

January 28, 2019

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

QUEBEC CITY, QC – Alupa Clarke, Member of Parliament for Beauport – Limoilou, is honoured to accept the role of Shadow Cabinet Minister for Official Languages and La Francophonie.

“2019 is an important year for Official Languages Minority Communities and for Canadians across the federation. In fact, this year is the 50th anniversary of the Official Languages Act, when French and English were declared to be Canada’s official languages and to have equal status across our great federation.”

“Since 1867, linguistic duality has constituted the keystone of the Canadian identity. The Act institutionalizes this identity and sets the precedent for Official Languages Minority Communities. It represents their rights guaranteed both quasi-constitutionally, and also their ability to legally defend their existence. It’s for these reasons that we, as elected representatives, and federal political parties have a duty to update this law, especially given the consensus by stakeholders. It is what the Conservative Government did under Brian Mulroney in 1988. Essentially, we need to move forward with the modernization without postponing it any longer. That is why I’m looking forward to presenting my plan for modernizing the Official Languages Act.”

“It’s disheartening to watch the Liberals, and Minister Joly, stall for so long and fail to present any government bill to accomplish the modernization before the upcoming election. It’s obvious that the Minister and the Liberal Party have no intention of accomplishing anything on this front. Yet the Official Languages Minority Communities have repeatedly and publicly called on the Government to announce the modernization of the Act as soon as possible.”

“Our leader, Andrew Scheer has therefore entrusted me with this crucial file. More than ever, the Conservative Party needs to win the 2019 election and form government if we are to see a meaningful modernization of the Official Languages Act.”

“Canadians, and especially our Official Languages Minority Communities, can be assured that under Andrew Scheer’s leadership, our Conservative Party will ensure that the Official Languages Act is modernized.”

-30-

For more information:

Office of Alupa Clarke, MP
Samuel Simard-Michaud
418-663-2113
Alupa.Clarke.A1@parl.gc.ca

Alupa Clarke est nommé ministre du Cabinet fantôme pour les Langues officielles et la Francophonie

POUR DIFFUSION IMMÉDIATE

Québec (Québec) – Le député de Beauport─Limoilou, Alupa Clarke, est honoré d’être nommé ministre du Cabinet fantôme pour les Langues officielles et la Francophonie.

« L’année 2019 est très importante pour les communautés de langues officielles en situation minoritaire (CLOSM), ainsi que pour l’ensemble des Canadiens. En effet, cette année, nous célébrons le 50e anniversaire de la Loi sur les langues officielles. Celle-ci reconnait que le français et l’anglais sont les uniques langues officielles de notre fédération et qu’elles ont un statut égal d’un océan à l’autre.

« Depuis 1867, la dualité linguistique constitue l’une des pierres angulaires de notre identité canadienne. La Loi concrétise cette identité et constitue une référence quotidienne pour l’ensemble des CLOSM. Elle représente une protection pour leurs droits quasi constitutionnels ainsi que pour leurs aspirations et revendications diverses. C’est pourquoi nous nous devons, en tant qu’élus et partis politiques fédéraux, et surtout lorsque le besoin est exprimé de toute part comme c’est actuellement le cas, d’actualiser la Loi. C’est ce que le gouvernement conservateur de Brian Mulroney a fait en 1988. En d’autres mots, nous nous devons d’aller de l’avant sans plus tarder afin de procéder à la modernisation de la Loi. À cet égard, ‎je suis impatient de présenter mon plan pour la modernisation de la Loi sur les Langues officielles.

« Les libéraux et la ministre Joly ont perdu un temps fou et ont échoué à présenter un projet de loi qui moderniserait la Loi de quelconque façon avant l’élection. De toute évidence, la ministre et le Parti libéral du Canada n’ont pas l’intention d’agir dans ce dossier crucial. Pourtant, les CLOSM ont à maintes reprises demandé publiquement que la Loi soit modernisée dans les plus brefs délais.

« Notre chef Andrew Scheer m’a donc confié un dossier fort important et d’autant plus d’actualité, puisque la Loi sur les langues officielles doit plus que jamais être modernisée en profondeur.

« Les Canadiens, et tout particulièrement les CLOSM, peuvent être assurés qu’avec le leadership d’Andrew Scheer, nous, les conservateurs, allons offrir une modernisation de la Loi des langues officielles en bonne et due forme. »

-30-

Renseignements :

Bureau d’Alupa Clarke, député
Samuel Simard-Michaud
418-663-2113
Alupa.Clarke.A1@parl.gc.ca