Online Petition

How to petition the House of Commons


Electronic Petitions – the Guide to Creating and Submitting a Petition

Should you wish to create a petition directly with the House of Commons, please follow the website and the instructions below.

Creating an Account

Note: A petitioner may only have one e-petition open for signature in his or her name at any one time.

The first step towards creating an e-petition is to create an account on the petitions website.

In addition to providing a valid e-mail address and choosing a password, a petitioner must provide the following contact information:

  • name;
  • city;
  • country and province or territory;
  • postal code; and
  • telephone number.

You may not use an e-mail address or a device with an IP address associated with the Government of Canada or the Parliament of Canada to create an account.

You must also certify that you are either a Canadian citizen or a resident of Canada, and must agree to the Terms of Use. The Terms of Use include detailed information about your rights and responsibilities with respect to the e-petitions process and should be read very attentively. A copy of all Terms of Use is available for reference in the “About” section of the petitions website.

Once your contact information has been submitted, a message with an embedded hyperlink will automatically be sent to your e-mail address, prompting you to confirm the creation of your account.

Creating a Petition – Format and Content

Now that you have created an account, you may begin to draft a petition. A standardized template to assist you in your drafting is provided on the website; see also Appendix A “Sample Format for an Electronic Petition” below. Please note the following guidelines for composing the text of a petition:

Addressee

The petition must be addressed to one of the following:

  • “the House of Commons” or “the House of Commons in Parliament assembled”;
  • “the Government of Canada”;
  • a Minister of the Crown; or
  • a Member of the House of Commons.

Text

When creating a new petition, you will need to compose a text of no more than 250 words. The text of a petition is essentially a request, also called a “prayer”, that the addressee take or to avoid some concrete action in order to remedy a grievance.

The petition may also include a more detailed description of the grievance or a statement of opinion, but these alone cannot be received as a petition; a concrete, specific request must be included. The request must be clear and to the point, and phrased as a request and not as a demand.

The text of your e-petition may not include a URL, any other link or web-based reference. Any petition that includes such links will be rejected.

Language

The petition must be respectful, use temperate language, and not contain improper or unparliamentary language. In particular, it should not contain disrespectful or offensive language with respect to the Crown, Parliament, or the courts. It may not include charges made against the character or conduct of Parliament, the courts, or any other duly-constituted authority. The e-petition must be written in either English or French.

Subject of the Petition

Federal jurisdiction

The petition must concern a subject that is within the authority of the Parliament of Canada, the House of Commons, or the Government of Canada. A petition must not concern a purely provincial or municipal matter.

Judicial Matters

The petition may not concern a matter that is sub judice, i.e. a matter that is the subject of legal proceedings or currently before the courts.

Steps to Have an E-petition Published

Before you begin collecting signatures from the general public, the three steps listed below must be completed. You will receive an e-mail advising you when the petition progresses through each step.

  1. Identify Supporters
    • When you draft your petition, you will be prompted to identify at least five potential supporters, but no more than ten, and provide their e-mail addresses.
    • A supporter is a resident of Canada or a citizen of Canada living either in Canada or abroad, who supports the ideas and proposals set out in your petition and who signifies his or her support before it is sent to an MP.
    • A supporter may be a friend, colleague, neighbour, or any eligible person who is willing to sign your petition. You may not act as a supporter for your own petition.
    • An e-mail address associated with the Government of Canada or the Parliament of Canada may not be provided as contact information for supporters.
    • The first five supporters to back your petition will be automatically added as signatories to the petition if and when it is posted for signature online. They will receive e-mail updates concerning the petition’s progress through the various stages. The agreement of five supporters is required before you can proceed to step 2.
  2. Invite a Member of Parliament to Authorize the Online Publication of the E-petition
    • During the process of creating your e-petition, you will need to select a Member of Parliament to authorize its online publication.
    • The Member of Parliament need not be the Member who represents the petitioners’ or signatories’ constituencies in the House of Commons.
    • Once your petition is sent to a prospective Member for consideration, the MP will have 30 days to make a decision. If they  have not responded within 30 days or refuse the request, you will be prompted to invite another MP to carry out this role. You will have a total of five such opportunities, if necessary.
    • The MP whom you identify to authorize the online publication of the e-petition, or his or her delegate, will be provided with your contact information and may contact you by email or by telephone to exchange some thoughts before responding to your request. In accepting to authorize its online publication, a Member is not necessarily agreeing with the opinions or request set out in the e-petition.
    • In the event the MP you identified ceases to be a Member before an e-petition is published on the website, the Clerk of Petitions will contact the petitioner and invite him or her to select another Member.
    • A Member of Parliament who authorizes the online publication of an e-petition is not permitted to rescind his or her decision.
  3. Examination by Clerk of Petitions
    • Once an MP has agreed to authorize the online publication of your e-petition, it will be examined by the Clerk of Petitions to ensure that its form and content respect the rules and practices of the House. This includes validating your signature and those of the supporters.
    • If the petition meets the requirements, it will be translated and published on the petitions website for signature by the general public. This step will be done on a first-come, first-served basis and will generally be completed within three to five working days from when the Member authorizes the petition for online publication.
    • If the text does not meet the set requirements, the Clerk of Petitions will contact the petitioner via e-mail, explaining the grounds for rejection. A copy of this e-mail will also be sent to the five supporters and to the MP who authorized the online publication of the e-petition. The petitioner may then decide to amend the text of his or her petition, but the submission process has to start anew.

Petition Available to be Signed by the Public

Once the petition has been published on the petitions website, it is available to be signed by the public. The “signature” consists of providing one’s name and some basic contact information. The Clerk of Petitions has the right to reject any signatures of which the validity is in doubt. Please note the following with regard to signatures:

  • Signatures of non-citizens who are not resident in Canada are not counted.
  • There is no minimum age requirement to sign a petition.
  • The information supplied must include the signatory’s:
    • name;
    • unique e-mail address (an e-mail address may only be associated with one signatory);
    • country and, if within Canada, postal code and province or territory; and
    • telephone number.

An e-petition will remain open for signatures for 30, 60, 90, or 120 days, as determined by the e-petitioner when the petition was created. To receive final certification, an e-petition must receive a minimum of 500 valid signatures during this period. If an e-petition has not garnered the minimum number of signatures by then, it will proceed no further, but will remain visible online.

In the event an e-petition is published and open for signature and the MP who authorized its online publication ceases to be a Member, you will be invited to select a new Member of Parliament, but this is not a requirement.

Certification and Presentation of a Petition

Once the deadline for signing a petition has closed, the Clerk of Petitions will proceed with a final validation of signatures and will issue a certificate that includes the text of the petition and the total number of signatures, provided that at least 500 valid signatures are present. This certificate will be forwarded to the MP who authorized the online publication of the e-petition and it can then be presented either by this MP or by another MP in the House. A record of this presentation will appear in the Journals for that day and you, the supporters and the signatories of the petition will be advised by e-mail.

Pétition électronique

Lancer une pétition destinée à la Chambre des communes


 

Pétitions électroniques — Guide pour la création et la soumission d’une pétition

Si vous souhaitez créer une pétition directement sur le site de la Chambre des communes, veuillez suivre le lien et les instructions suivantes.

Créer un compte

Note : Un pétitionnaire ne peut avoir qu’une seule pétition électronique ouverte pour signature en même temps.

La première étape à franchir avant de préparer une pétition électronique est de créer un compte dans le site Web des pétitions.

En plus de fournir une adresse de courriel valide et de se choisir un mot de passe, le pétitionnaire doit fournir les renseignements suivants :

  • son nom ;
  • sa ville ;
  • son pays et sa province ou son territoire ;
  • son code postal ;
  • son numéro de téléphone.

Pour créer votre compte, vous ne pouvez pas utiliser une adresse de courriel ou un appareil associé à une adresse IP du gouvernement fédéral ou du Parlement du Canada.

Vous devez aussi certifier être soit un citoyen canadien ou un résident du Canada, et devez accepter les Conditions d’utilisation. Les Conditions d’utilisation renferment de l’information détaillée sur vos droits et vos responsabilités dans le cadre du processus de pétitions électroniques et vous devriez les lire attentivement. Vous trouverez les Conditions d’utilisation dans la section « À propos » du site Web des pétitions.

Une fois vos renseignements personnels soumis, un courriel contenant un hyperlien vous est automatiquement envoyé pour confirmer la création de votre compte.

Création d’une pétition — forme et contenu

Maintenant que vous avez créé un compte, vous pouvez amorcer la rédaction de votre pétition. Le site Web renferme un modèle pour vous aider à préparer votre pétition ; consultez aussi l’Annexe A « Gabarit d’une pétition électronique » à la fin de ce guide. Veuillez noter les directives suivantes pour la composition de la pétition :

Destinataire

La pétition doit être adressée à l’un des destinataires suivants :

  • « à la Chambre des communes » ou « à la Chambre des communes réunie en Parlement » ;
  • « au gouvernement du Canada » ;
  • à un ministre fédéral ;
  • à un député de la Chambre des communes.

Texte

Lorsque vous créez une nouvelle pétition, vous devez rédiger un texte d’au plus 250 mots. Le texte d’une pétition consiste essentiellement en une requête, aussi appelée une « prière », faite au destinataire, à qui l’on demande de prendre ou d’éviter de prendre des mesures concrètes afin de résoudre un grief.

La pétition peut comporter une description plus détaillée du grief ou un énoncé d’opinion, mais cela ne peut constituer en soi une pétition ; il faut inclure une requête concrète, précise, claire et concise. La requête doit être formulée comme une demande, non pas comme un ordre ou une exigence.

La pétition électronique ne doit pas comporter d’URL, un autre lien ou un renvoi à un site Web. Les pétitions qui contiennent de tels liens sont rejetées.

Langue

La pétition doit être libellée en termes respectueux et modérés et ne pas comporter de termes inconvenants ou antiparlementaires. Elle ne doit surtout pas contenir de mots irrévérencieux ou qui peuvent manquer de respect au souverain, au Parlement ou aux tribunaux. Elle ne doit pas porter d’accusation mettant en cause la moralité ou la conduite du Parlement, des tribunaux ou d’une autre autorité dûment constituée. La pétition doit être rédigée en français ou en anglais.

Sujet de la pétition

Questions de compétence fédérale

La pétition doit viser un sujet qui relève de la compétence du Parlement du Canada, de la Chambre des communes ou du gouvernement du Canada. Elle ne doit pas porter sur une question de compétence provinciale ou municipale.

Convention relative aux affaires devant les tribunaux

La pétition ne doit pas viser une affaire en instance, c’est-à-dire une affaire qui fait l’objet d’une procédure judiciaire ou qui est actuellement devant les tribunaux.

Les étapes menant à la publication d’une pétition électronique

Avant de commencer à amasser les signatures du public, les trois étapes qui suivent doivent être franchies. Vous serez avisé par courriel lorsque la pétition aura franchi chacune de ces étapes.

  1. Identifier les appuyeurs
    • Lorsque vous rédigez votre pétition, on vous demandera d’identifier au moins cinq appuyeurs éventuels (maximum de dix) et de fournir leur adresse de courriel.
    • Un appuyeur est un résident du Canada ou un citoyen canadien qui habite au Canada ou à l’étranger, qui appuie les idées et les propositions contenues dans la pétition et qui exprime son soutien avant qu’elle soit envoyée à un député.
    • Un appuyeur peut être un ami, un collègue, un voisin ou quiconque est admissible et prêt à signer votre pétition. Vous ne pouvez pas être appuyeur de votre propre pétition.
    • On ne peut pas utiliser une adresse de courriel du gouvernement fédéral ou du Parlement du Canada comme coordonnées pour les appuyeurs.
    • Les cinq premiers appuyeurs qui soutiennent la pétition deviennent automatiquement des signataires lorsque la pétition est affichée en ligne, le cas échéant. Ils recevront par courriel des mises à jour chaque fois que la pétition franchira une étape. Votre pétition devra obtenir l’appui de cinq appuyeurs avant de progresser davantage.
  2. Inviter un député à autoriser la publication de la pétition électronique en ligne
    • Au cours du processus de création de votre pétition électronique, vous devrez choisir un député qui en autorisera la publication en ligne.
    • Il n’est pas obligatoire que le député soit celui de la circonscription du pétitionnaire ou des signataires.
    • Une fois que vous avez envoyé votre pétition à un député éventuel, ce dernier a 30 jours pour prendre une décision. Si le député éventuel n’a pas répondu dans le délai de 30 jours ou s’il a refusé votre demande, vous serez invité à choisir un autre député pour jouer ce rôle. Vous avez en tout cinq chances, au besoin.
    • Le député que vous choisissez pour autoriser la publication de la pétition électronique en ligne ou son mandataire reçoit vos coordonnées et peut communiquer avec vous par courriel ou par téléphone pour discuter de votre pétition avant de répondre à votre demande. En acceptant d’en autoriser la publication en ligne, un député ne signifie pas nécessairement son accord envers la demande qui est énoncée dans la pétition électronique.
    • Si le député que vous choisissez cesse d’être député avant que la pétition soit publiée sur le site Web des pétitions, le greffier des pétitions communique avec le pétitionnaire pour l’inviter à choisir un autre député.
    • Le député qui autorise la publication de la pétition électronique en ligne n’est pas autorisé à revenir sur sa décision.
  3. Examen par le greffier des pétitions
    • Une fois qu’un député a accepté d’autoriser la publication en ligne de votre pétition, celle-ci est examinée par le greffier des pétitions pour s’assurer que sa forme et son contenu respectent les règles et les pratiques de la Chambre. Cette étape inclut la validation de votre signature et celles de vos appuyeurs.
    • Si la pétition répond aux critères, elle est traduite et publiée sur le site Web des pétitions afin de recueillir les signatures des membres du public. Cet examen est fait selon le principe du premier arrivé premier servi et prend de trois à cinq jours ouvrables à partir du moment où la pétition est autorisée pour publication en ligne.
    • Si la pétition ne répond pas aux critères établis, le greffier des pétitions communique avec le pétitionnaire par courriel pour lui fournir les motifs du refus. Le courriel est également envoyé aux cinq appuyeurs et au député qui en a autorisé la publication en ligne. Le pétitionnaire peut modifier le texte de sa pétition, mais il doit reprendre le processus de soumission depuis le début.

Pétition ouverte pour signature par les membres du public

Une fois publiée sur le site Web des pétitions, la pétition peut être signée par le public. Dans le cas des pétitions électroniques, une « signature » est constituée du nom et des coordonnées de base du signataire. Le greffier des pétitions a le droit de rejeter les signatures dont la validité est mise en doute. Veuillez suivre les exigences suivantes en ce qui concerne les signatures :

  • les signatures de citoyens étrangers qui ne sont pas des résidents du Canada ne comptent pas ;
  • il n’y a pas d’âge minimum pour signer une pétition ;
  • chaque signataire doit fournir les renseignements suivants :
    • son nom ;
    • son adresse courriel (chaque adresse courriel ne peut être associée qu’à un seul signataire) ;
    • son pays de résidence et, s’il habite au Canada, son code postal et sa province ou son territoire ;
    • son numéro de téléphone.

La pétition électronique est ouverte pour signature pendant 30, 60, 90 ou 120 jours, selon la durée déterminée par le pétitionnaire lors de la création de la pétition. Pour recevoir une certification finale, une pétition électronique doit amasser au moins 500 signatures valides avant la fin de cette période. La pétition électronique qui n’a pas obtenu le nombre minimal de signatures avant l’expiration de ce délai ne peut passer à la prochaine étape, mais demeure visible en ligne.

Si le député qui a autorisé la publication de la pétition en ligne cesse d’être un député après que la pétition ait été publiée et ouverte pour signature, vous serez invité à choisir un autre député, mais ce n’est pas obligatoire.

Certification et présentation de la pétition

Lorsque la pétition a amassé au moins 500 signatures dans le délai prescrit, le greffier des pétitions procède à la validation finale des signatures et délivre un certificat qui comporte le texte de la pétition et le nombre total de signatures. Ce certificat est envoyé au député qui a autorisé la publication de la pétition en ligne et la pétition peut ensuite être présentée à la Chambre par celui-ci ou un autre député. La présentation de la pétition sera consignée dans les Journaux du jour et vos appuyeurs, les signataires et vous en serez avisés par courriel.