Paper Petition

How to petition the House of Commons


Paper Petitions

If you have an idea for a petition on a matter that is important to you, this guide will help you to get started and to navigate the process before your petition can be signed.

Members of the public who wish to draft a petition for its presentation to the House of Commons are welcome to first submit a draft of the petition (without signatures) to a Member of Parliament to see whether it is correctly worded. Do not hesitate to contact our office for a preliminary verification.

Creating a Paper Petition – Form and Content

A suggested template for paper petitions to the House of Commons that satisfy the requirements below is set out at the end of this guide

Addressee

A petition must be addressed to one of the following:

  • “the House of Commons” or “the House of Commons in Parliament assembled”;
  • “the Government of Canada”;
  • a Minister of the Crown; or
  • a Member of the House of Commons.

Text

The text of a petition is essentially a request, also called a “prayer”, that the addressee take or to avoid a specific action, in order to remedy a grievance.

A petition may include a detailed description of the grievance or a statement of opinion but these alone cannot be received as a petition; a concrete and specific prayer must be included, clear and to the point, and phrased as a request, not as a demand.

If a petition is composed of more than one sheet of signatures and addresses, the prayer or subject matter of the petition must be indicated on every sheet.

Subject of a Petition

Federal jurisdiction

A petition must concern a subject that is within the authority of the Parliament of Canada, the House of Commons, or the Government of Canada. A petition must not concern a purely provincial or municipal matter.

Judicial matters

A petition may not concern a matter that is sub judice, i.e., currently before the courts.

Language

A petition must be respectful, use temperate language, and not contain improper or unparliamentary language. In particular, it should not contain disrespectful or offensive language with respect to the Crown, Parliament, or the courts. It may not include charges made against the character or conduct of Parliament, the courts, or any other duly-constituted authority. A petition must be written in either English or French.

Written, Typewritten or Printed on Paper

The text of a paper petition must be written, typewritten or printed on paper no smaller than 14 cm x 21.5 cm (Half Letter) and no larger than 28 cm x 43.25 cm (Ledger paper) to be accepted. Standard letter or legal sized paper are recommended.

Erasures or Interlineations

The text of a petition must not be altered either by erasing or crossing out words or by adding words or commentary. Any alteration will make the petition unacceptable.

Attachments, Appendices, or Extraneous Material

A petition must be free of any other matter attached or appended to, or written or printed on, the petition, e.g. additional documents, maps, pictures, logos, news articles, explanatory or supporting statements, or requests for support. A petition printed on the reverse of another document is not acceptable.

Signatures and Addresses

A paper petition must contain a minimum of 25 valid signatures with addresses. The signatures of non citizens who do not reside in Canada and who therefore cannot petition the House of Commons are not counted. If you anticipate that your petition will circulate outside of Canada, please make sure that your signatories are aware that they may only sign if they are either Canadian citizens, residents of Canada or Canadian citizens residing abroad.

There is no minimum age requirement for anyone signing a petition.

A petition must contain original signatures written directly on the document and not pasted, taped, photocopied, or otherwise transferred to it.

Each signatory must sign (not print) his or her name directly on the petition and must not sign for anyone else. If a person cannot sign his or her own name because of illness or a disability, this must be noted on the petition and the note signed by a witness.

The use of any address format on a paper petition is acceptable, as long as it clearly establishes the place where a signatory resides. Someone who does not have a fixed address must state it on the petition. Additional contact information, such as telephone numbers or email addresses, is not required.

Some signatures with addresses must appear on the very first sheet with the text of the petition. Signatures and addresses may appear on the reverse sides of pages.

Sample template of an acceptable petition

We, the undersigned (Identify the petitioners in general terms, for example: electors of an electoral district, residents of the City or Village, or Township, of …), draw the attention of (suggestions: the House of Commons / the House of Commons in Parliament assembled/ the Government of Canada/ name of a Minister/ or name of a Member of Parliament) to the following:

THAT, GIVEN (Optional)

  • (Here, you may include bullet points to state briefly the reasons underlying your request by summarizing the facts which you wish the addressee to consider.)

THEREFORE, your petitioners … (suggestion: request/ call upon) (suggestion: the House of Commons, the House of Commons in Parliament assembled, the Government of Canada, name of a Minister, or name of a Member of Parliament) to … (Set out the prayer by stating succinctly what action you wish the addressee to take or refrain from taking).

(After the prayer, include a table with 2 columns (one for “Signatures” and one for “Addresses”) and several rows large enough to allow a person to sign. The table may look like this and some signatures must be on the first page.)

Subsequent pages of the petition

(Repeat the prayer from the first page at the top of each subsequent page or the subject matter of your petition. NOTE: The text of the prayer must be the same on each page. Add a table for signatures and addresses, as on the first page, with as many rows as can fit on the page.)

Pétition papier

Lancer une pétition destinée à la Chambre des communes


Pétitions papier

Si vous avez une idée de pétition sur un sujet qui vous tient à cœur, le présent guide vous aidera à débuter et à franchir les différentes étapes avant de faire signer votre pétition.

Si vous souhaitez que votre pétition soit présentée à la Chambre des communes, vous êtes bienvenu de soumettre une ébauche (sans les signatures) à un député afin de savoir si la forme et le contenu sont recevables. N’hésitez pas à contacter notre bureau pour une vérification préléminaire.

Création d’une pétition papier — forme et contenu

Vous trouverez à la fin de ce document un modèle de pétition papier proposé par la Chambre des communes qui respecte les exigences exposées ci-dessous (voir l’Annexe A — Modèle de pétition recevable).

Destinataire

La pétition doit être adressée à l’un des destinataires suivants :

  • « la Chambre des communes » ou « la Chambre des communes réunie en Parlement » ;
  • « le gouvernement du Canada » ;
  • un ministre ; ou,
  • un député à la Chambre des communes.

Texte

Le texte d’une pétition consiste essentiellement en une requête, aussi appelée une « prière », faite au destinataire, à qui l’on demande de prendre ou d’éviter de prendre des mesures concrètes afin de résoudre un grief.

La pétition peut comporter une description détaillée du grief ou une opinion, mais ceux-ci ne constituent pas une pétition et ne sont pas recevables en soi ; une prière concrète et précise doit être incluse, être claire, succincte et formulée comme une demande et non comme une exigence.

Lorsque la pétition comporte plus d’une feuille de signatures et d’adresses, chacune des pages doit contenir la requête ou une indication de l’objet de la pétition.

Sujet de la pétition

Questions de compétence fédérale

La pétition doit viser un sujet qui relève de la compétence du Parlement du Canada, de la Chambre des communes ou du gouvernement du Canada. Elle ne doit pas porter sur une question de compétence provinciale ou municipale.

Convention relative aux affaires devant les tribunaux

La pétition ne doit pas viser une affaire en instance, c’est-à-dire une affaire qui fait l’objet d’une procédure judiciaire ou qui est actuellement devant les tribunaux.

Langue

Le libellé de la pétition doit être respectueux et modéré et ne doit pas comporter de termes inconvenants ou non parlementaires. Elle ne doit surtout pas contenir de mots irrévérencieux ou qui peuvent manquer de respect au souverain, au Parlement ou aux tribunaux. Elle ne doit pas porter d’accusation mettant en cause la moralité ou la conduite du Parlement, des tribunaux ou d’une autre autorité dûment constituée. La pétition doit être rédigée en français ou en anglais.

Manuscrite, dactylographiée ou imprimée sur du papier

Le texte de la pétition doit être manuscrit, dactylographié et imprimé sur des feuilles de papier mesurant au moins 14 cm sur 21,5 cm (demi-page) et au plus large 28 cm sur 43,25 cm (A3). Nous vous recommandons des pages de format régulier (lettre) ou légal (A4).

Ratures ou rajouts interlinéaires

Il ne faut pas altérer le texte de la pétition en effaçant ou en raturant des mots, ou en y ajoutant des mots, ou des commentaires. Toute altération de ce genre rend la pétition irrecevable.

Pièces jointes, annexes ou autres ajouts

La pétition ne doit pas contenir de pièces jointes, d’annexes ou d’autres textes écrits ou imprimés, comme des documents supplémentaires, des cartes, des images, des logos, des articles de journaux, des exposés de motifs, des pièces justificatives ou des demandes d’appui. Une pétition imprimée au verso d’un autre document n’est pas recevable.

Signatures et adresses

La pétition papier doit porter au moins 25 signatures valides accompagnées d’adresses. Les signatures de non citoyens qui ne résident pas au Canada, et qui ne peuvent donc pas soumettre de pétition à la Chambre des communes, ne sont pas comptées. Si vous prévoyez que votre pétition sortira des frontières canadiennes, veillez à ce que les signataires sachent qu’ils ne peuvent signer que s’ils sont citoyens ou résidents canadiens, ou citoyens canadiens résidant à l’étranger.

Il n’y a pas d’âge minimum pour signer une pétition.

Les signatures figurant sur la pétition doivent être originales et être écrites directement sur le document, et non y être maintenues par de la colle ou du ruban adhésif, y être photocopiées ou y être reproduites par d’autres moyens.

Chaque signataire doit signer son nom — et non l’écrire en lettres moulées — directement sur la pétition et ne doit signer pour nul autre. Si une personne ne peut signer son nom elle-même en raison d’une maladie ou d’un handicap, la chose doit être signalée dans une note sur la pétition et la note doit être signée par un témoin.

L’utilisation sur une pétition papier de tout format d’adresse est acceptable, pourvu que l’endroit où le signataire réside soit clairement établi. Une personne qui n’a pas d’adresse fixe doit l’indiquer sur la pétition. Il n’est pas nécessaire d’y ajouter d’autres coordonnées, comme un numéro de téléphone ou une adresse courriel.

Sur la toute première feuille, qui contient le texte de la pétition, doivent également figurer quelques signatures accompagnées des adresses des signataires. D’autres signatures et adresses peuvent apparaître au verso de la pétition.

Modèle de pétition recevable

Première page de la pétition

Nous, soussignés, (Identifier les pétitionnaires en termes généraux, par exemple : électeurs de [nom de la circonscription électorale], résidents de la province de…, résidents de la ville [ou du village ou du canton, etc.] de…), désirons porter à lattention (choisir : de la Chambre des communes, de la Chambre des communes réunie en Parlement, du gouvernement du Canada, de [nom dun ministre ou dun député]) que :

ATTENDU QUE (optionnel)

  • (ici, vous pouvez inclure quelques points résumant de brèves raisons pour lesquelles vous présentez une requête en résumant les faits que vous souhaitez porter à lattention du destinataire.)

PAR CONSÉQUENT, les pétitionnaires… (Choisir : demandent/prient) (Choisir : la Chambre des communes/la Chambre des communes réunie en Parlement/le gouvernement du Canada/nom dun ministre/dun député) de… (énoncer brièvement la prière en précisant l’action que vous demandez au destinataire de prendre ou ne pas prendre).

(Après la prière, inclure un tableau avec 2 colonnes [une pour les « signatures » et une pour les « adresses »], ainsi que plusieurs rangées assez larges pour permettre à une personne de signer. Le tableau peut ressembler à ceci et quelques signatures doivent figurer sur la première page.)

Pages suivantes de la pétition

(répéter la prière de la première page au haut de chaque page subséquente ou l’objet de la pétition.
À NOTER : Le texte de la prière doit être le même sur chaque page. Ajouter un tableau pour les signatures et adresses, comme sur la première page, avec autant de rangées que peut en contenir la page.)